“I have to be a full-time employee to collect workers’ compensation.”
Mississippi law requires employers with five or more employees to provide workers’ compensation coverage. However, some injured workers may not file a workers’ compensation claim because they believe that they must be employed full-time. The truth is that workers’ compensation benefits apply to all workers – whether they are employed full-time, part-time, or temporarily. If you are injured at any time within the scope of your employment, you are eligible to collect benefits following a work-related injury.
“I have plenty of time to report my injury.”
In Mississippi, you have up to 30 days to report an injury to your employer. However, when you sustain a work-related injury or learn about a work-related illness, you should report it to your employer immediately. The sooner you begin the process, the more likely you will receive workers’ compensation benefits in a timely manner. There are some exceptions for not reporting an injury within 30 days. For example, if a worker is unable to report an injury due to a coma, life-threatening condition that requires immediate treatment, or quarantine for severe illness, he or she will not be penalized. After you report your work-related injury, you must file your workers’ compensation claim within two years.
“If I’m at fault for causing my injury, I’ll be denied workers’ compensation benefits.”
Work injuries happen when you least expect them to. One careless mistake that could result in a severe injury. However, even if you caused the accident that led to your work injury, you can still collect workers’ compensation benefits. In Mississippi, workers’ compensation is a no-fault system.
“My employer can retaliate against me for collecting workers’ compensation benefits.”
Federal law protects workers’ compensation recipients from employer retaliation. As an employee, you have the right to file a workers’ compensation claim. Any attempt from your employer to punish or retaliate against you is illegal. Our workers’ compensation attorneys do not put up with any type of retaliation.
“I can rely on other benefits to cover the cost of my work injury.”
After a work-related injury, you may be thinking that health insurance will cover your medical treatment. However, health insurance coverage often comes with co-pays and deductibles. Workers’ compensation benefits cover the full cost of your treatment, evaluation and hospital transportation, and also provides you with partial lost wages. Relying on other benefits after a work injury can leave you paying for your expenses out of your own pocket.
“I don’t need to consult with an attorney when filing a workers’ compensation claim.”
When it comes to filing a workers’ compensation claim, you absolutely should consult with an attorney. The process of your claim can be complex, and if it’s not approached correctly, your claim can be denied. That’s why you need an experienced workers’ compensation attorney on your side who understand the process.
If you have suffered a workplace injury, contact Tabor Law, P.A. for a confidential free consultation. You can also call us at (833) 352-8579.